summer beauty stuff (no boys allowed!) + a GIVEAWAY!

last week was spent in the 100+ degree desert of las vegas. on monday i was welcomed home with the same degree of humdity, plus rain, and it’s been that way all week. as my hair reaches monica-geller-in-bermuda levels, i’ve finally come to accept that summer is on its way. and with that comes the realization that it’s time to rethink my hair and makeup routines, so i won’t be melting and (hair)poofing until september. yes, i realize this is so very#____worldproblem, but please, let me have my thing. any menfolk who read my blog (hi dad), i’m sorry i don’t have any recs for you. i suggest birchbox man for all of your dude beauty needs.

on with the show!

summer beauty essentials

first things first, if you’re going to invest in just one of these, please make it dr. feelgood. i can’t even tell you how magical this stuff is – basically, it works its powers and you won’t be sweating bullets/melting your face off, even in the worst humidity. you can really use it any way you want to – there aren’t any directions. use it alone, or under your regular makeup (i use it as a base layer, and sometimes add more on top of my various powders).

i also want to highlight B.B. cream, something relatively unknown in the makeup world unless you’re obsessive like i am. to put it simply, B.B. (beauty balm) cream is a colored makeup, lighter than foundation, with more coverage than a tinted moisturizer. it’s packed with vitamins and minerals and all sorts of good stuff for your skin. a few months ago i really wanted to try it out, but didn’t want to shell out the $$ for the expensive stuff at sephora if it wasn’t going to work out. oh so luckily i happened to see an ad for garnier’s version, walked right into CVS to find it on SALE (!! for $10!), and i’m not going to look back. this stuff works wonders. brandy endorses it too, so it must be great, right?

other highlights

  • dove’s dry shampoo for those days you just can’t bring yourself to wash your hair (for me, it’s mostly every day). best smelling/inexpensive one i’ve found so far.
  • bumble & bumble surf spray/charlotte ronson beach waves for more lazy days. if you have wavy hair like me, simply spray into damp hair, scrunch, and go.
  • garnier anti-humdity hairspray to keep all that hard work in place.
  • urban decay 24/7 eyeliner – i’ve been using it for years, because it really is smudgeproof and comes in lots of fun colors!
  • neon pink blush, because DUH.

and now, a GIVEAWAY!!!

i’m giving away TWO (2) of nuNAAT’s Silicon Hair Polishing Serums. i got one in my swag bag at bloggers in sin city last year, and fell in love with the product (you can listen to me rave about it here). nicole generously gifted me with LOTS of extras, and now i want to pass some on to people who will also appreciate it’s magic.

to enter:

  • leave a comment by wednesday, may 30th telling me your favorite summer beauty product OR your favorite product in general

that’s it! tbh i’ve never done a giveaway before and i hate doing the runaround (follow me! friend me! tweet this! follow them!) to enter a giveaway, so i’m making it simple.

also, fine print – this is not sponsored at all, just want to do something fun to kick off summer and talk about all of my favorite things!

ETA: the winners were JESS and ALYCIA! thanks for commenting, everyone! such good recs πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “summer beauty stuff (no boys allowed!) + a GIVEAWAY!

  1. I love love love bumble & bumble’s surf spray but it’s so expensive for how quickly i run through it so i made my own (thanks pinterest!) i just mixed water, a water based hair gel, and epsom salt into a squirt bottle and ta da! It’s perfect.

  2. I adore Joico’s forming polish for my hair, but rumor has it that they are discontinuing the product (sad face!). That being said, I also love Sexyhair Smooth & Seal anti-frizz and shine spray. Perfect for Muchogan’s bipolar weather!

  3. Okay I definitely don’t need any more beauty products but I LOVE TALKING ABOUT THEM, so I must join this conversation. Time for real talk.

    – bb cream that you talked about. Awesome.
    – Victoria Secret eyeshadow is JUST as pigmented as Mac but is much cheaper. Also, I tend to like the colours a lot better.
    – Dior mascara is great if you are a millionaire. Benefit is cheaper and I like it just as much. L’oreal is my favourite but I just found out they test on animals so NO GO. Also, I think Maybelline mascara is bullshit. I don’t get the cult status at all.
    – Aveda Pure Abundance powder IS MAGIC POWDER and instantly gives bombshell volume. However it’s tricky since the powder changes texture when it’s shaken so I never travel with it.
    – Too Faced Shadow Insurance FEELS like a splurge but it a) lasts forever and b) keeps your eyeshadow on so it’s not being wasted which makes it economical.
    – I try a million bronzers but I always go back to Bare Minerals ‘warmth’ which is just… the best thing.

    I could keep going but this is getting awkward.

  4. I love Aveeno’s tinted moisturizer – it gives me a beautiful glow, SPF, and it moisturizes my skin so I don’t have to put on a ton of layers that are very obvious in the sun and by the pool. Nor do I have to worry about reapplying all the layers after an hour in the sun. Worst thing – I have to reapply only ONE layer! πŸ™‚

  5. At the moment my out of control hair is loving Biolage volumatherapie shampoo and conditioner.
    Thanks for the heads up, I’ll give dr feelgood a try ….you know what I mean πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

