my running story, part deux

{this is part 2. read part 1 here. also, i forgot to post this last week, so…. i edited the end.}

In the spring semester after my sophomore year of college, I decided to stay at school for a short 8-week term to take some extra classes. I had just joined the gym down the street, was pretty lonely, and spent a LOT of time there. Walking around campus one day, I saw a sign for a 5K that was going to be held in a few weeks. It was free registration, and you got a free t-shirt, so I figured, why not? I trained and trained, but not well enough because that 5K SUCKED.

Then I came home for the rest of the summer, and stopped working out.

And I got fat.

After I graduated and moved home, I got fatter.

One day, I looked at myself in disgust, and joined the gym that night. I worked out nearly every day, as much as my schedule would allow it. In the first month/6 weeks, I was down 8 lbs and lots of inches everywhere. It was a great feeling, and I kept it up until I moved to Philly.

When I moved to Philly, I was poor. I didn’t join the gym, and I didn’t know my way around so I didn’t run. Somehow, I lost weight.

In September/October, my friend said something about running a 10K in Central Park, and somehow it snowballed into 8 girls doing it together. I trained hard for it, and did decently for my first long(er) distance run in years.

After that race, I got the bug. A few weeks later, I signed up for the Broad Street Ten Miler here in Philadelphia. It’s the largest 10 miler in the country, with 30,000 (registered) participants.

The race is was Sunday, and I am was equal parts excited and terrified.

I have been training for months, in every kind of weather. I have some serious shoes and gear. The longest run I’ve done is 8 miles – which is decent(ish). My fear is was not finishing, and letting myself give up like I’ve done so many times before.

What (I hope) will get got me through are were: thoughts of my parents and boyfriend waiting for me at the end; thoughts of finally accomplishing such a big goal; thoughts that I’m doing something good for my body; thoughts of awesomely inspirational friends who have accomplished so many more miles than this.

I’ll be wearing wore all of my favorite gear – neon pink tech shirt that could blind a blind person, black and white running shorts, and my trusty dri-fit hat. I have been perfecting this outfit for weeks.

I’m probably making a much bigger deal about this than I should definitely made it out to be a bigger deal that it was– but that’s my nature. We’ll see how this race goes, and then I’ll think about doing a half marathon in the fall. Maybe. I’m definitely doing a half marathon in September!! (BSR race recap is coming up next…)

Leave a Reply

