Ten on Tuesday: Dating!

I’ve decided to participate in “Ten on Tuesday”, a fun blog series hosted by Chelsea at Roots and Rings. Today’s topic is DATING!! I’m probably going to go back and do a few just for fun, and not on Tuesday.


1. What is your idea of the best date?
Anything that isn’t “typical” (though I still enjoy the typical dinner date as well). My first-ever date involved getting dressed up for brunch at a fancy hotel, watching a movie in someone’s basement, and ended with a snowmobile ride out in the country. Needless to say, I still remember it well.

2. How long does it take you to get ready to go on a date?
From start to finish – shower, hair, makeup, picking out an outfit – I’d say an hour to 1 1/2 hours. At least for the first few dates, or any special-occasion date after dating for a while.

3. What would you wear on the date?
Depends on the occasion/situation! Meeting up for dinner/drinks would probably call for skinny jeans and boots or flats and a flattering top, light on the jewelry and the perfume. Always curl my hair, though.

4. If you are married, how often do you go on dates? If you are single, when was your last date?
I am dating someone, and our last date was Friday night. Since we hadn’t been OUT out in a while, I took some extra time getting ready to make it a little special. It worked!

5. What was your worst date?
One of my online date meetups…the guy was so nervous and twitchy, we had absolutely nothing in common, and he’d driven 2 hours in first-snow traffic to get there. I felt horrible, especially since I realized after that I probably acted like I didn’t want to be there the entire time.

6. Do you/Did you kiss on your first date?
I do, if I’m feeling it! Has only happened a handful of times, though. I have kissed a lot of frogs on non-dates, too.

7. If married, how long before you knew he/she was the one? If single, how long before you know if the person is marriage material?
I really think it depends on the situation and the couple. Everyone is different. I’ve known people who have dated for years and it didn’t work out, and then people who dated for a few weeks, got engaged, and are still happy as clams. Coming from my background, it just takes a lot of understanding to really “get” other couples’ choices (especially because I’m not on that path), but it really depends on the 2 people involved, and nobody else.

8. Do you prefer day dates or night dates?
I like the anticipation of night dates, but day dates are fun because that’s when you can do the atypical date stuff. Nate and I went to the Philadelphia Flower Show during the day, and it was a nice change of pace. As he remarked after, “It was nice, because we were doing something, but really…we were doing nothing.” (Don’t worry, it’s a good thing).

9. How old were you when you first were allowed to date?
16… and of course I counted down the days (and so did all the boys, apparently). I still think anyone who actually “dates” before 16 or even 18 isn’t really dating, especially if it’s a high school relationship. Having your parents take you everywhere and going to Applebees with said parents money isn’t very uh… romantic (can there be romance that young, anyway?).

10. What is the most embarrassing moment you have had on a date?
I can’t really think of anything specific, but it was probably just my usually klutziness/clumsiness or saying something incredibly stupid to get myself teased. I’ve managed to steer clear of any major life-altering or changing dating horror stories. Now in real life/not on dates…that’s a different story.

Leave a Reply

