>would you live in the country of facebook?

>last week i wrote a post for sparxoo about social media and how it connects us, but also how we organize all this information. it was a hit, if i do say so myself. and i’m proud of my work. i love social media. i love how it connects me to people. i’ve written before about my love for twitter, which many people still don’t understand. i think social media is a powerful force in our society. just look at these stats the the video:

even if those are a little skewed, its still really cool to think that i am playing a part in making a mark on my generation. gen Y is not just a bunch of kids who sit around and play video games and text 24/7. lots of us are out there trying to make a difference and doing what we can to make a name for ourselves, even in this tough time. i’m proud of my degree and my education, and hope that someday soon i can reach even farther and have a large influence on my peers. i’ve tried to take the advice of the many branding/marketing/PR gurus on blogs and twitter to develop my own brand. i can only hope that what i’m doing is right. while i’m here in rochester trying to get my feet wet, i’m getting lots of real world experience in managing time and money, and my life as well. i have a lot to look forward to, and i can’t wait to get out there and do it!

3 thoughts on “>would you live in the country of facebook?

  1. >oooh. You are an official writer for Sparxoo. Look at you harnessing the powers of social media and using it for good as opposed to evil. I'm so proud. Great article, btw. Tell me more about your job.

  2. >I don't think social media is a fad, and I do think it's an important shift in the way we communicate. But, I worry about the quality of the material that emerges from new reporting (like twitter) as opposed to old reporting (like newspapers). Journalism has ethics rules; twitter does not. I think it's powerful to have so much information accessible to so many people, but if the information that all have access to is tainted, what power rests in that? There have been many instances of false reports running rampant through twitter. Granted, these have mostly been about the false deaths of celebrities, but what if it were something different, more important?I also worry that social media, instead of being connecting, actually makes us more isolated. Think about how many facebook "friends" you have, and how many you actually consider friends of yours. How does this alter the way that we interact on a real human level, when everything is virtual?Twitter, in particular, I think encourages people to only look at the world from their own personal viewpoint, because it becomes all-important to understand that viewpoint and share it (force it upon?) others. What is more isolating than the actual inability to see the world from any other perspective besides one's own?

Leave a Reply

