>love songs of great boy bands

>(disclaimer: i will try not get all OMG FANGURL!!!111 up in here, because this is a classy blog. i promise i will try to restrain myself.)

so this past weekend was the end of an era. TRL ended. it went out with a bang, with a long special on MTV in which they brought back lots of bands from years past, including Blink 182, 2/5 of NSYNC, and 4/5 of the Backstreet Boys. Britney’s “Hit Me Baby One More Time” was named the most influential video of the series.

my childhood is calling.

this morning i watched the video of the BSB singing “I Want it that Way” from the TRL special. i still remembered every word, every inflection, every note, every key change, even though i haven’t listened to that song in probably 2 years (the song itself is 9 years old…)

the original BSB CD was the very first CD i owned. i won it off of a sprite bottle cap. the NSYNC CD came next, and i’m pretty sure both of them are pretty worn out and unplayable on any CD player. i was a loyal BSB fan first; i loved nick carter, of course. when i crossed over to the dark side of NSYNC, justin timberlake of course became my next love. i still felt torn, so i had a picture of each above my bed. i also remember carrying around pictures of each in my wallet, and when i got a free BSB poster at Sears once, i showed the cashier my pictures. i’m pretty sure she thought i was a freak.

i remember staying up late the night before the 2nd BSB CD came out (Millennium), listening to Radio Disney (ew) as they premiered each song. I was ready with a blank cassette tape and recorded every.single.song. pretty sure that tape is worn out now, too.

what i’m trying to say is, boy bands are awesome. every generation has had one. the jackson 5, the osmonds, wham!, new kids on the block, HANSON, and then of course BSB and NSYNC (we’ll throw 98 degrees in there for good measure).

today at work i relived my teenagedom and rocked out to old school BSB, NSYNC, and Britney and Christina. and i still remembered every song, every lyric, every inflection. it’s amazing how stuff like that stays with you. i was thinking that it was kind of sad though, because at one point in my life, “this i promise you” topped my list for future wedding songs (i was like, 14, ok!?). these songs don’t have any real MEANING other than i loved them when i was 14 and they make me happy.

so we’ve gone from this:

“My angel, my all, my very self – Only a few words today and at that with pencil (with yours) – Not till tomorrow will my lodgings be definitely determined upon – what a useless waste of time – Why this deep sorrow when necessity speaks – can our love endure except through sacrifices, through not demanding everything from one another; can you change the fact that you are not wholly mine, I not wholly thine – Oh God, look out into the beauties of nature and comfort your heart with that which must be”
(Beethoven)

to this:

You are my fire
The one desire
Believe when I say
I want it that way

But we are two worlds apart
Can’t reach to your heart
When you say
That I want it that way

Tell me why
Ain’t nothin’ but a heartache
Tell me why
Ain’t nothin’ but a mistake
Tell me why
I never wanna hear you say
I want it that way

but i will still love them with every single bit of my heart 🙂

One thought on “>love songs of great boy bands

  1. >I can’t believe you didn’t mention O-Town!!!Years from now, your kids are going to laugh at you for having BSB, etc. on your iPod — just like you laugh at me for having the Osmonds on mine!

Leave a Reply

