26.2

so, you may have seen this last week. and if you’ve been anywhere within 5 feet of me in the past week and a half, you’ve probably heard me talk about it.

i’m running a freaking marathon (the philadelphia marathon, to be exact), and i’m stupid excited about it.

i started running about 3 years ago, first training for a 10k (which at the time seemed like the LONGEST DISTANCE EVER), then a 10 miler, then a half marathon….then four more half marathons. during this time, i repeatedly said that i would never run a marathon. and yet, here we are. a week and a half into my first marathon training cycle, doing 3 mile baby runs, and i’m already craving more mileage. when do i get to the good stuff???

i knew i needed to run a marathon after my last half marathon (sorry, no recap, because i’ve been admittedly terrible at blogging for the past SEVEN MONTHS). it was the rock ‘n roll washington d.c. half, where i ran a pretty easy 2:05. of course it sucked at times, but i didn’t hate it. and when i crossed the finish line and called my mom a few minutes later, she couldn’t believe that i’d just run 13 miles. my body didn’t hurt the way it usually does after long distances – i was pretty much back to normal the next day. i didn’t say it then, but i knew in my mind that i needed MORE. i needed to challenge myself more, since 13.1 just wasn’t cutting it anymore.

then april came, and i ran a 5k, a ragnar relay (which i will formally recap later, i swear), a 4 mile race, and my favorite 10 miler in four consecutive weekends.

don’t ever do that, please. i’m pretty sure the furious downhill finish of the 5k messed up my knees (specifically, my left leg IT band), which flared up at mile 5 of my first ragnar leg six days later. which made legs 2 and 3 miserable, and put my training on hold for the next few weeks. i made it through the 4 mile race, but broad street was a death march from mile 4 on, and i probably shouldn’t have finished that race. but in my dumb mind, a DNF was worse than needing to take a month and a half off to let my body heal. i don’t know either, guys.

so here i am, fully healed, running without my IT band strap (little victories!), sweating through these workouts, swallowing lots of bugs on my river runs, all for the joy of crossing that finish line on november 17th. I AM SO READY.

and oh yeah, one more thing.

i’m finally fundraising! and i could really use your help.

i have been planning to fund raise for a race ever since i started running. i wanted the charity to really, really mean something to me, meaning i didn’t want to just sign up for something on a whim to cross it off my life list. so when i came across the girls on the run solemates page, it just felt so right. i have been interested in volunteering for girls on the run for years, ever since finding the blog of one of their local coaches. the programs around philadelphia were always too far away, or the times didn’t work for me. a philadelphia city chapter finally formed last year (i actually volunteered with them at a water station at the philly RNR half last year), but the timing still doesn’t work out for me. so i’m doing the second-best thing, fundraising through my most favorite activity ever.

here’s the blurb on GOTR, from their website:

Girls on the Run is a transformational physical activity based positive youth development program for girls in 3rd-8th grade. We teach life skills through dynamic, interactive lessons and running games. The program culminates with the girls being physically and emotionally prepared to complete a celebratory 5k running event. The goal of the program is to unleash confidence through accomplishment while establishing a lifetime appreciation of health and fitness.

i really, really wish i could have had something like this when i was that age. and i really hope that sometime soon i’ll be able to volunteer as a coach and get to interact with these girls one-on-one. but for now, i will run for them, and give them everything i have.

here’s my personal fundraising page (it’s pink, naturally) and i would be forever grateful if you could help me along in my goal. if you live in philly, i’ll make you cookies or cupcakes or some other baked good of your choosing. if you want to run with me, that would be ever better. but really, don’t do it for me. do it for these girls, and the wonderful program that GOTR is. please!! here, i’ll even make it easy for you:

DONATE!!!!!

thanks, you’re the best :)

4 thoughts on “26.2

  1. I’M SO EXCITED FOR YOU!!

    I donated to Girls on the Run earlier this year as part of my Giving Year thing (which doesn’t mean I won’t donate again, of course) and love what they’re doing. Running has given me so much and I’m so glad to see that it’s being used to help girls build confidence and self esteem while leading active lives.

  2. Just came across your blog searching for info on the Philadelphia Marathon. Ill be in the crowd rwith you running my first 26.2!! I started a hal higdon plan this week and will be following your blog/training!! I’ve also been a Girls on the Run Coach for the past 2 years…it’s a wonderful group!!!

Leave a Reply

